Simplicity 2444 Take Two

This is one of my favourite things I’ve made, and I completely forgot to blog it! I made this back in March 2013.

Previously I used Simplicity 2444 to make this dress. However, I always wanted to make it in something a little more functional. (As some bloggers refer to: more cake, rather than frosting!)

I needed a dress to wear to a friend’s kitchen tea, and I decided that I didn’t like the options in my cupboard, and I didn’t like the options in the shop. Fortunately, I had nothing to do the day of the kitchen tea, so I spent a few hours making this dress. It was like I was in an episode of Project Runway!

Because daisies.

Because daisies.

Technical details:

I used a cotton fabric from Spotlight, with red lining for the skirt.

The only changes I made from my last version of Simplicity 2444 is that I left the sleeves off, and used the arm facing instead. I also used an invisible zip rather than the exposed one.

I loved the French Seams on my last one so much that I used that again. It made it a little bulky in some places, but it’s just so pretty.

I attempted to match the fabric at the back and I did so with minimal success. I’ll keep working on that!

Next time, (because I’m sure there will be – I love this pattern!) I think I might try lining Simplicity 2444 completely.

IMG_9328

4 thoughts on “Simplicity 2444 Take Two

Leave some love behind...

