Triple Chocolate Mud Pie

Triple Chocolate Mud Pie
Chocolate cookie crust, dark chocolate baked filling, dark chocolate ganache, topped with chocolate flavoured whipped cream, and drizzled with chocolate ganache… Do I have your attention yet?

This is only the second pie I have made – the first was this one: Chocolate Meringue Pie. I’ve never been a big pie maker. They tend to take a lot longer, but I’m becoming convinced that they are so worth it. This pie was delicious. I found the recipe from Super Food Ideas, and although it did take a while to make, I would definitely make it again. It is every chocoholics dream.

I made just a few changes here and there, and if I made it again, I think I would use milk chocolate, or even white chocolate. It was very rich, but scrumptious!

Serves: 12 (or more! Cut the slices nice and small.)
Prep: 40 minutes (allow 60-90 minutes for standing time)
Cook: 40-60 minutes (depending on your oven)

Ingredients:

Crust:

  • 250g choc ripple biscuits
  • 75g butter melted

Filling:

  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee powder, dissolved in 1 tablespoon hot water
  • 100g dark chocolate (I prefer Cadbury cooking chocolate, but next time I might experiment and use milk or white chocolate)
  • 100g butter cut into small cubes
  • 3/4 cup caster sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 3/4 plain flour
  • 1.5 tablespoons self-raising flour
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten

Ganache:

  • 270g dark chocolate, chopped (I use Cadburys, but any other brand would be fine, or milk chocolate if you don’t want it to be as rich)
  • 600ml thickened cream
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • icing sugar
  • dark chocolate curls/shavings
  1. Using a processor, process the biscuits until they are fine crumbs. Add butter and continue processing until combined. Grease pie dish (23cm loose-based fluted flan tin with approximately 3cm sides works really well!). Press mixture over base and out to sides. Cover, and place in fridge for about 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 150 degrees Celsius, or 130 degrees Celsius if fan forced.
  2. While base is chilling in the fridge, place chocolate, butter, sugar, coffee mixture and milk in a saucepan over medium heat. (Watch it carefully! You really don’t want to burn this…) Stir continually for 3-4 minutes, until it is smooth and combined. The sugar should have dissolved and it should be quite smooth. Allow at least 20 minutes to cool. Once cool, whisk in cocoa and flours. Whisk in egg. (The egg is the reason you have to let it cool… If it’s still hot, you’ll cook the egg when you add it. Gross!)
  3. Take base out of the fridge and pour filling in. Place on a baking tray, rather than just your wire racks. (seriously… do this step: Or see butter floating all over your oven for you to clean later – You’ve been warned…) Bake in oven for about 35-40 minutes. The top should be firm to touch. It was more like 60 minutes in my oven, because I’d turned the grilling function off, and so it took longer. I didn’t want to brown it though – just bake it! Just keep checking it every 5 minutes until the top is firm, or a skewer comes out clean.
  4. To make ganache, place chocolate and 1/2 cup of cream in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave on medium power for 1 to 2 minutes, or until smooth. Keep checking it and stirring it while melting. Again, this will depend on your microwave. Alternatively, you might choose to do this in a saucepan, or double boiler; up to you! Spread 2/3 of the ganache over the top of the pie. The rest will be drizzled on top. I know you are getting so impatient at this point… BUT set aside for another 20 minutes. It needs to be completely cool before adding the cream on top!
  5. Using an electric mixer, whip cocoa and remaining cream until soft peaks form. I also added icing sugar to taste at this point. I was already feeling like it was going to be very rich and very bitter, so if you are a sweet tooth… go crazy with the icing sugar. You won’t regret it. (Is icing sugar the way you are supposed to sweeten cream? I have no idea… it just seemed like a good idea at the time.. and well, it tasted good…)
    (Side note: I couldn’t believe I didn’t have to use my electric mixer until this point! I’m so used to pulling it out in step one!)
  6. Top the pie with cream mixture, drizzle with remaining ganache and add chocolate curls/shavings to finish.

Also, maybe this is just me…. but I tried some straight away and found it really sickening.. Maybe it’s because it was 11:00pm at night. But the next day when I had it for morning tea, it was delicious. Maybe the flavours develop overnight? Or maybe I’m crazy for trying to eat chocolate at 11:00pm.

I’ve linked up to:
Positively Splendid

13 thoughts on “Triple Chocolate Mud Pie

  1. Pingback: Food update. « Priscilla Jacob

  2. Pingback: Food update. |

  3. Pingback: Best Mud Pie Recipes | Favorite Food RecipesFavorite Food Recipes

Leave some love behind...

