“Sew, a Needle Pulling Thread” Part One

The ‘Maria’ Dress: Design Process

The Design Details:

Pattern: Simplicity 2444

 

For a very long time, I’ve been lurkingx following Susannah’s blog Adventures in Dressmaking. For anyone else that reads it, you may have noticed she talks about Simplicity 2444 a lot. So, when I noticed my local craft store had 50% Simplicity patterns, I decided to finally buy it.

Around the same time, I was given a character to dress up to for a friend’s birthday party: ‘Maria’ from The Sound of Music.

 (For some silly reason, I haven’t seen this movie all the way through. I’ve attempted, but something always comes up and I have to stop it, or I get distracted, or I fall asleep. I know. I’m a terrible human being).

I decided there was no better time to try watching it again, but the present; especially considering I now needed costume ideas. (A nun’s outfit wasn’t going to cut it for me…)

I discovered I had a few options…

A dress covered with an apron, while she is twirling in the field….

Maria, the bride (not that I got up to this part…)

Or this one: Maria at the dance (Which after seeing this section of the movie, I decided this was it.. and switched off the movie. :/)

I looked at this final one and thought… Hey! I just bought a pattern that might make that work…

*Cue Google image searching to see if I can find any more pictures.*

My final design was based on this concept/sketch by One Little M. I just had to find coordinating material.

Leave some love behind...

