Sewing a top a month: February

For February’s top, I took on three challenges.

  1. I made my first top for someone else. I’m so used to just pinning, sewing and fitting it onto myself, that I wanted to try and see if I could make something that would fit a friend of mine.
  2. I jumped into this project without a pattern. I used two dresses as a guide, particularly for the collar, but this was pretty much all me. Scary.
  3. I sewed with chiffon for the first time.

For these three reasons, it wasn’t a perfect success, but there was definitely some success in there!

I was limited with the amount of material that I had, and for ages, I didn’t know what I was going to do about the collar, as I had only been able to cut out one instead of two. A week or so of the half completed top just sitting there, I had inspiration… LACE COLLAR. I honestly don’t know why it took me so long to think of. I love it. Unfortunately, I gave it away to a friend. But now, they love it, and I can make my own when I get past the stress of this one. ;)

Notes for next time:

  • Use more material! My button holes are funny, because I didn’t leave a big enough seam allowance. :(
  • Using chiffon to bias bind = hell. Practise. Practise. Practise.
  • Work out how to sew a collar properly. I tried to follow instructions, but somehow still got it wrong, and ended up hiding the raw edges by sewing the collar down… still works right?!
4 thoughts on “Sewing a top a month: February

Leave some love behind...

