“Not with a fizzle, but with a bang”

I thought I’d start this blog off with one of my projects that caused the most stir, and questions, and tell you a little about how it was done. As most of you would know, Valentine’s Day was last month. Now I am not a big fan of the holiday, and I blame that on 22+ years of being single. However, I was hanging out with a bunch of girls that night at small group, and thought I’d make them a surprise. I had seen on google reader, and pinterest, this idea of baking a love heart into a cake, and knew it was a little complicated. However, I was up for the challenge! (Mainly because I had a lot of time on my hands.) So with the help of google (seriously, what did we do before google?), I searched “love heart in a cupcake” and the top answer was this one:

So now, I had my instructions on how to do it, I used my favourite vanilla cupcake recipe (Crabapple Cupcake Bakery) as normal until I got to the patty pan stage. I then took out a third of my batter, and added pink food dye, and poured it into a square cake pan. I then put it in the oven for about 7-10 minutes. Basically, as soon as it is firm enough to cut into, you want to take it out.

I let it cool down and also put it in the freezer once it was out of the cake pan to make it even easier to cut into. Now, the next step, you will need a cookie cutter in the shape of your choice. I ended up buying fondant heart cutters, because I couldn’t find a cookie cutter. However, I think this worked better, as they were just a little smaller, and just fit into the cupcake pans.

Once I cut out my little pink hearts (or whatever shape/colour you have gone with), you should have something that looks like the picture on the left.

I put these to the side for just a minute, while I put the plain coloured cupcake batter into the cupcake cases in the trays, filling them up about halfway.

The pink hearts were then pushed into the cupcake batter, making sure they were all facing the same way and I knew where the front was.

After bringing them out of the oven, it was time for the fun part! Decorating! I went with a vanilla buttercream, with half of the frosting dyed pink, and the other half remaining white. Each time I filled up my piping bag, I just split up the colours – pink on one side, white on the other, and hoped for the best! (luckily, it turned out just as I hoped, and had a nice tie dye/dip dyed effect)

Again, showing that I had way too much time on my hand, I used fondant dyed pink, to make love hearts to go on top and mark the front, and piped some chocolate hearts as well. If time is a measure of love, well then, a lot of love went into making these! ;)

Ta da! The finished product:

Please check out Made With Love By Me’s page for instructions. There were so many little tips and instructions, that I haven’t mentioned here, that really made this quite easy!

Also, check out Bake It In A Cake, where the original inspiration came from.

One thought on ““Not with a fizzle, but with a bang”

Leave some love behind...

